Meghan Hughes presented a fascinating introductory slideshow at the Church Hill North Community Conversation earlier this month. One of the striking images was the photo above (circa 1940s) of the Springfield Temperance Hall at 700 North 26th Street.
The building was initially a meeting hall owned by Springfield Division #167 Sons of Temperance (and later operated as General Hospital #26 during the Civil War). It stands now as the lone historic structure on the 2500 block of M Street dominated by the parking lot of the late 1970s East District Initiative building.
The building was in better shape by the time it was photographed in 1965 for the Richmond Esthetic Survey.
The Community Conversations at the Valentine continue through June with events exploring Old Town Manchester, Carver, Barton Heights, and Forrest Hill.
— ∮∮∮ —
— ∮∮∮ —
PHOTOS: TOP 700 North 26th Street (built ca 1850) 1940s / courtesy the Valentine, Cook Collection // BOTTOM via Bing maps