A short history of Richmond City Council

05/18/2009 2:45 PM by

Found recently on the city site, a list of members of Richmond City Council from 1948-present (PDF) puts names and dates to some of the recent political history of the city. In the 32 years since the switch to the 9 Districts, the 7th District has had 3 elected representatives and 3 short-term appointed representatives.

City Council 7th District Representatives since 1977

Henry L. Marsh, III (1977-1992)

Oliver Rodney Hunt Singleton (1992)

Oliver Rodney Hunt Singleton was appointed on February 4, 1992, by the Chief Judge of the Circuit Court, to fill the unexpired term in the 7th district, following the December 19, 1991 resignation of Henry L. Marsh, III, who had been elected to serve in the Virginia Senate.

Rev. Leonidas B. Young, II (1992-1999)

Sherwood T. White (1999)

Sherwood T. White was appointed on February 22, 1999, by City Council, to fill an interim term until an Election could be held in the Seventh District following the resignation of Leonidas B. Young, II on February 1, 1999. As a result of the special election Delores L. McQuinn was elected to fill the remaining term in the Seventh District on April 6, 1999.

Delores L. McQuinn (1999-2009)

Betty L. Squire (2009)

Betty L. Squire was appointed on February 9, 2009, by City Council to fill the Seventh District seat following the resignation of Delores L. McQuinn effective January 13, 2009. (Ms. McQuinn was elected to serve in the Virginia House of Delegates, 70th District seat.)

TAGGED: , , , , ,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By commenting you are agreeing to this site's PRIVACY / USE / COPYRIGHT / DISCLAIMER